Brimbank Mayor, Councillor Jasmine Nguyen

Cr Jasmine Nguyen elected as Mayor of Brimbank

Cr Jasmine Nguyen is the 2021-2022 Mayor after being elected by her fellow Brimbank Councillors at a special Council meeting on 17 November.

Now in her second year and first term as a Councillor, Cr Nguyen was first elected in 2020.  Cr Nguyen was Deputy Mayor for 2020-21.

Cr Nguyen is the first Vietnamese-Australian, and youngest, Brimbank City Council Mayor.

Cr Thuy Dang was also elected as Deputy Mayor for the same term.  Cr Dang is also Vietnamese.

Brimbank Mayor, Cr Nguyen said, “It’s a real honour, privilege and responsibility to be elected the 2021/2022 Mayor of Brimbank City Council.

“I hope I inspire other young people to step up, particularly young people of colour from multicultural communities.

“I am very proud to be leading the Council and community as we respond and recover from the impacts of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

“I want to deliver better outcomes for youth, more jobs, mental health support and create a sustainable and smart city.

“I want us to all work together to respond to the climate change emergency by protecting and enhancing our green spaces and getting to net zero by 2030.

“I will also work to deliver much needed infrastructure and services, and to advocate for investment on behalf of all our community in all wards.

“With the support of my Councillors, we will work as a team to make Brimbank even better.

“I would like to thank Cr Ranka Rasic for her huge efforts during the last year including advocating to Federal and State governments to fund critical projects to improve our city.

“I will continue to advocate for our community and make sure Brimbank gets a fair go and we bridge the gap between east and west

“As Mayor, I hope to empower others – Councillors, the staff of the organisation and most importantly of all – the Brimbank community.  Let’s bounce Brimbank Back!”

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related Posts

Copyright © Brimbank City Council

Brimbank City Council acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of this land, the Wurundjeri People, and pays our respects to Elders past and present.