Brimbank;s new electoral boundaries

Brimbank’s new electoral boundaries

The Victoria Government has put into effect the recommendations from electoral structure reviews for 39 councils to comply with the Local Government Act 2020.

The Brimbank City Council electoral structure will change to a single-member ward structure. Brimbank will have a subdivided electoral structure of 11 wards, each represented by one councillor, totalling 11 councillors. The change will take place before the October 2024 local government general elections.

Of the three single Councillor ward structure models recommended by the Electoral Representation Advisory Panel, the model endorsed by Council at the 31 October 2023 Council Meeting is the model that has been approved by the State Government.  The model endorsed is considered the most effective at grouping communities of interest together, with clearer ward boundaries.

We look forward to working with the Victorian Electoral Commission to implement this model.

The final electoral structure has been formally gazetted in the Victoria Government Gazette.

Read the final report


Related Posts

Copyright © Brimbank City Council

Brimbank City Council acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of this land, the Wurundjeri People, and pays our respects to Elders past and present.